“Hunting For Witches”

Today I read:

I try to stress how important it is, when you’re asking for the attention of a reader, that you’re doing the most intense, interesting, compelling, fascinating thing that you could possibly do.

— Ben Marcus, interviewed in BOMB

Also, oh man, this:

I was at the table with a bunch of old-timers and they had heard I was a writer. I had tried to keep that from them. They asked me the title of my book. At that point I had just published my first book and I said, “The Age of Wire and String.” And they said, “What? ‘The Face of Wire in the Wings’?” I said, “No, The Age of Wire and String.” They said, ”’Why the Caged Bird Sings’?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

