“Endless Summer”

A family friend had a heart attack recently.  He’s recovering remarkably well, luckily, but the reason I mention it is that I’ve been reminded that he and his wife at the time, my aunt, were some of the first people I ever realized were genuinely “cool.”  I remember they gave me a copy of the Sneaker Pimps’ 6 Underground for my birthday one year, and bags of marvelous books.  I’ve always felt my aunt, particularly, “got” me, and I’m very grateful they were around at that formative moment in my growing up — and that they continue to be a presence, however peripheral at times, in my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal

Leave a Reply

